Page 1 of 1

Hanabi - What would you clue?

Posted: 02 September 2018, 06:42
by Daredek
Two players, Played fireworks: R2 Y0 G2 B0 W2
3 clues, 1fuse
Discard:
R: 2
Y: 2 3
G:
B: 2 3
W: 4
Clued hand: ?? ?? ?? ?5 ?4
Actual hand: y4 w5 y3 y5 y4

What would you clue to save the last y3 and save the w5 and not fails playing fresh y4?

(Your hand ? ? ? ?4 R4 )

Re: Hanabi - What would you clue?

Posted: 03 September 2018, 08:59
by yoyote
I would give Y, he will bomb, and I give 5.
I think the bombs are existing to manage this case.

Re: Hanabi - What would you clue?

Posted: 03 September 2018, 13:59
by Romain672
So we are on critical situation. You need either to give yellow who seems good, or do something unconventionnal. It depend of the position of your chop too.
Playing #3 (=card in position 3 with 1 leftmost) is a possibility for make a play of y3 on some situation.
Or give an empty clue on a no double discard situation (depend what happen last turn) with someone who trust you for save 2 card.
Or an off discard.

Guess I would do yellow with random player, and perhaps an empty clue with someone I know.


edit: But even if there is a possibility of double discard of the same card, I would not do it with only 1 clue left, so it's still fine.

Re: Hanabi - What would you clue?

Posted: 05 September 2018, 03:35
by Raal
As the timing has been missed, clue 3 and W5 should be discarded.
If the opponent is very careful, W5 can be saved, too.


2 turns before:
W5 Y3 ?? Y5 Y4

if it was clear that Y3 must be saved, clue 5 is the best.

Re: Hanabi - What would you clue?

Posted: 17 December 2018, 21:40
by Daredek
Clue 1 to Save All: (New convention)
3 clues, Clue 1, since player has no 1's, says to Save All cards.
2 clues, player clues back to you (maybe for a discard)
1 clue, clue Y, save Y(4) save Y(3) discardable 4Y
Player looks at hand and realizes he can discard the 4Y !

Unconventional Discard:
3 clues, Discard 4R = Discarding a clued card indicates trouble ahead, you draw fresh and pray
4 clues, player clues back to you
3 clues, clue Y, save Y(4) save Y(3) discard 4Y (as above)

Re: Hanabi - What would you clue?

Posted: 21 December 2018, 06:59
by Raal
Daredek wrote: Unconventional Discard:
3 clues, Discard 4R = Discarding a clued card indicates trouble ahead, you draw fresh and pray
4 clues, player clues back to you
3 clues, clue Y, save Y(4) save Y(3) discard 4Y (as above)
It is worse than discarding 3rd one, because it normally means "Your 4 is red."
There is still risk of fuse, too.

Discarding is not bad idea. Chance of draw playable card is 12/28.
How about discarding newest? "You should discard same place."

However, risk of more critical situation is 4/27(Y2 B2 B3 W4).

Re: Hanabi - What would you clue?

Posted: 16 March 2019, 07:02
by Daredek
In 'my' written rules 'You have zero of something' is not allowed.
So, is this legal: Clue 1 to Save All: (New convention)?

Re: Hanabi - What would you clue?

Posted: 16 March 2019, 12:51
by Ankeszu
Daredek wrote:In the written rules 'You have zero of something' is not allowed.
Correction: In the written rules of the copy you have it may be not allowed. In other editions it may be different - e.g. Polish version actually is ambiguous on this one. Some interprete it this way and some the other way around.
The author himself spoke once something like "sure, you can clue something like that, why not" *. And that's probably a reason why it is allowed on this site.

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/612244 ... -posted-bo - Clarifications, point 2.

Re: Hanabi - What would you clue?

Posted: 14 July 2019, 12:43
by beri
I see no problem at all if you play with common sense over conventions.
Clue 5, they discard, clue Y.
Why should they therefore play a yellow? No sensible reason, as they should understand it could be a y3 y4 save.