Assistance with adding an expansion to an existing project

Game development with Board Game Arena Studio
kermitfrog

Assistance with adding an expansion to an existing project

Post by kermitfrog »

Greetings Devs,

I want to add an expansion to Innovation, but I am having difficulty determining the proper course of action. I am not a developer of the game nor am I familiar with BGA's infrastructure. I tried creating an example project and copying content over from the Innovation project, but that is causing many errors when I try to start a game.

Really what I want is the ability to create a "feature branch" or "sandbox" where I can experiment with the existing game framework and add features to it over time before merging it back into the "head" when the features are added. Does such capability exist in BGA?

I should note that I am really new to PHP, JS, and CSS so this will be a learning experience for me, hence why I don't want to muck with the "master" branch. I have many years of software development experience, but these languages are new to me (which should be fun).

Any suggestions are welcome.
kermitfrog

Re: Assistance with adding an expansion to an existing project

Post by kermitfrog »

By the way, the error I'm seeing is this:

Unexpected error: Wrong formatted data from BGA gameserver 1 (method: createGame):
Warning: require_once(/var/www/tournoi/include/Innocities.inc.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /var/tournoi/release/tournoi-180518-1949-gs/www/index.php on line 74

Fatal error: require_once(): Failed opening required '/var/www/tournoi/include/Innocities.inc.php' (include_path='/var/tournoi/release/tournoi-180518-1949-gs/www/lib/google-api-php-client/src:.:/usr/share/php') in /var/tournoi/release/tournoi-180518-1949-gs/www/index.php on line 74

It looks like something is missing on the server side, but I don't know what to make of it otherwise.
Een

Post by Een »

Hi!

To clone a project, the following should work: