Please be able to change the word order of the created sentence.

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/#!bugs
waka_pirokal

Please be able to change the word order of the created sentence.

Post by waka_pirokal »

I started the Japanese translation of Remember When.

In order to change the word order of the created sentence, please be able to translate the system message displaying the created sentence in the game log.
Because the word order of English and Japanese are different, translation is difficult at present.
Translation is difficult, especially because the order of subjects, verbs, and objects is different in English and Japanese.
Please make it translatable as described above so that translators can freely rearrange these.

I am not good at English, but I hope many Japanese players will play this game.
FourGiving

Re: Please be able to change the word order of the created sentence.

Post by FourGiving »

Thanks. Designer here. I don't understand any of the technical stuff. Is this a switch or option that the developer can "turn on", or is this something that BGA itself would need to enable? Thanks again for your interest and support. Personally I would love for the game to be translated, but I know nothing about how to do it :(
waka_pirokal

Post by waka_pirokal »

Thank you for your reply.

I do not know the details, but I think both developer and BGA can "turn on".
I think that it is not technically difficult because sentences to be translated are often added in other games.

For example, in Remember When, there is a system message like the following.

${player_name} vaguely remembers, "I ${html}${verbed}${endHtml} ${article} ${object}." But when? Where? Why? How?

When this becomes translatable, I can rearrange the order of replacement characters.