Statue of Zeus in Olympia - Stage 2 - Day side - reward unclear

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/#!bugs
Post Reply
Eirae
Posts: 5
Joined: 01 April 2020, 16:19

Statue of Zeus in Olympia - Stage 2 - Day side - reward unclear

Post by Eirae » 14 September 2020, 17:40

Hi Guys,

Not sure if it is a translation issue or else but I cannot make sense of the description of the stage reward for the following wonder in the new game format:
Statue of Zeus - Stage 2 - Day side -> "You can build for free the first card of each color"

I managed to go to the historic of a previous version game and it was saying "Once per Age, you may construct a structure for free" which I do understand the meaning.

FYI, the design of the action is different.

Are the stages rewards different in the new version?
Is it a translation issue or an accurate description, and if so, what does that mean ??

Thanks

User avatar
jaspingrobus
Posts: 42
Joined: 20 September 2018, 13:06

Re: Statue of Zeus in Olympia - Stage 2 - Day side - reward unclear

Post by jaspingrobus » 14 September 2020, 19:44

Better explanation of the rules: "Once this symbol enters play, you can construct the first Building for free, in each color, that you don't already have in your city".

Check also the FAQ here:
https://www.7wonders.net/en/7-wonders/faq

Eirae
Posts: 5
Joined: 01 April 2020, 16:19

Re: Statue of Zeus in Olympia - Stage 2 - Day side - reward unclear

Post by Eirae » 15 September 2020, 12:15

Thank you, keeping that website in mind.

Make more sense now, was missing the part "that you don’t already have in your City ".

User avatar
setsuna3nc
Posts: 1
Joined: 11 April 2020, 16:02

Re: Statue of Zeus in Olympia - Stage 2 - Day side - reward unclear

Post by setsuna3nc » 18 September 2020, 04:56

jaspingrobus wrote:
14 September 2020, 19:44
Better explanation of the rules: "Once this symbol enters play, you can construct the first Building for free, in each color, that you don't already have in your city".

Check also the FAQ here:
https://www.7wonders.net/en/7-wonders/faq
wait, so let's say I built this wonder at end of second stage, and I already built any red, yellow, and blue card in the city (as any players should), then this wonder effect is useless(except for purple card)?

wow, then what is the point of this wonder except for securing purple card? pretty sure you will get green/red/yellow/blue card at free (or almost free) anyway in first age

User avatar
jaspingrobus
Posts: 42
Joined: 20 September 2018, 13:06

Re: Statue of Zeus in Olympia - Stage 2 - Day side - reward unclear

Post by jaspingrobus » 18 September 2020, 09:25

It will mainly give you a free purple, but you can also abstain from building blue for first 2 rounds to get a free blue.

Post Reply

Return to “7 Wonders”