Using a port bonus after the main action

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/bugs
Post Reply
User avatar
nandblock
Posts: 157
Joined: 23 December 2015, 02:13

Using a port bonus after the main action

Post by nandblock » 30 August 2019, 04:53

According to the rules, you may use a port bonus either before or after your main action. But in the BGA implementation, you must do it before the main action--after you perform the main action your turn is immediately ended and you have to wait till next turn. This is a problem given that you often want to take the bonus port action before another player's turn (e.g. to grab a new contract before it's gone).

User avatar
RicardoRix
Posts: 1037
Joined: 29 April 2012, 23:43

Re: Using a port bonus after the main action

Post by RicardoRix » 30 August 2019, 09:31

Which specific port action are you referring to?

Some of the port actions automatically come up with a check-box to use while your doing your main action (if the port action is relevant).

User avatar
N_Faker
Posts: 746
Joined: 09 September 2016, 10:16

Re: Using a port bonus after the main action

Post by N_Faker » 30 August 2019, 10:03

These ports have a reduced functionality if you cannot use a port after your main action. If you only reach a port right before the game ends you may not get to use it, if that is the case, then all ports are affected.

-

Manipulate the price of one Good by three steps on the Market before trading this Good. (Doesn't count if it is limited to right before using the market.)

Take any two of your units from your Player board (other than Fields) and exchange them with any two of your units on the map (other than Fields) at no cost. The two new units must be different from the two old units. The new units must match the land type on which they are deployed. If you qualify you can obtain the Building bonus. You cannot obtain any Neighbourhood bonus during this port action.

You gain £5. If your Export box is empty you can perform the Building bonus (and pay the respective costs if you decide to take an Export contract, as normal).

Pay £3, put a Port bonus marker on this tile, and then use any one of the other three Port tiles in play. Due to this Port tile, you can potentially use another port tile’s effect twice.

User avatar
nandblock
Posts: 157
Joined: 23 December 2015, 02:13

Re: Using a port bonus after the main action

Post by nandblock » 30 August 2019, 23:40

Yeah there are many cases where you need to do the port action at the end of your turn. Grabbing a contract before someone else can take it is the main one.

User avatar
Songo
Posts: 11
Joined: 24 April 2016, 14:10

Re: Using a port bonus after the main action

Post by Songo » 24 October 2019, 18:20

IS there a way to get a contract like this? arent those actions (either the port, or getting the last manuf. good building) to see 3 random and pick one?

Ah, but i noticed another one, switching units on the map to deny placement bonus

User avatar
nandblock
Posts: 157
Joined: 23 December 2015, 02:13

Re: Using a port bonus after the main action

Post by nandblock » 24 October 2019, 18:49

Yeah my previous post is wrong, I had forgotten that the contracts come from the draw pile not the public available ones.

But yes, switching out units is a legitimate end-of turn action. For instance, you might not want someone to buy a resource at a discount before your next turn, so you change the unit to something less desirable.

User avatar
MeisterN81
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 December 2019, 20:51

Re: Using a port bonus after the main action

Post by MeisterN81 » 13 October 2020, 19:24

With regards to this post, I have noticed that when getting in shipping range of a port (just upgrading shipping) the port can only be used the NEXT turn while it should actually be the current.

When reaching a port by building a unit next to it you CAN still use the port in your current round.

This should be consistent and you should be able to always use a reached port in any way in the current round.

Post Reply

Return to “Clans of Caledonia”