Fighter, Ranger, Wizard

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/bugs
Post Reply
User avatar
diamant
Posts: 287
Joined: 18 April 2016, 16:39

Fighter, Ranger, Wizard

Post by diamant » 30 December 2019, 20:55

rule, p. 10:
After you do a quest of the indicated hero type,
you may pay 1 coin to draw a treasure of the indicated color. You get this
bonus whether you started or finished the quest, but only once per quest.


rule, p. 12:
<ICON*> When you gain treasure from a quest of the indicated hero type

* icon of Fighter, or Ranger, or Wizard

When you start a quest, you craft the first object of a quest with 2 objects; you get no treasure card. Therefore, the 2 rule points cited are contradictory. The rule implemented on BGA is page 10 (see bug #14108: "Fighter, ranger and wizard should activate when quest is completed notwhen crafting."). Any comments ?

User avatar
N_Faker
Posts: 489
Joined: 09 September 2016, 10:16

Re: Fighter, Ranger, Wizard

Post by N_Faker » 31 December 2019, 04:27

The rules aren't contradictory, "do a quest" isn't the same as "craft an item".

User avatar
diamant
Posts: 287
Joined: 18 April 2016, 16:39

Re: Fighter, Ranger, Wizard

Post by diamant » 31 December 2019, 11:18

N_Faker wrote:
31 December 2019, 04:27
The rules aren't contradictory, "do a quest" isn't the same as "craft an item".
How do you explain the sentence I underlined, which indicates that the bonus could be obtained twice, without the limitation introduced?

All quest-specific treasure cards are distributed at the same time.

Why would the editor write "do a quest" if the correct expression was "complete a quest?

User avatar
N_Faker
Posts: 489
Joined: 09 September 2016, 10:16

Re: Fighter, Ranger, Wizard

Post by N_Faker » 31 December 2019, 15:51

diamant wrote:
30 December 2019, 20:55
rule, p. 10:
After you do a quest of the indicated hero type,
you may pay 1 coin to draw a treasure of the indicated color. You get this
bonus whether you started or finished the quest, but only once per quest.


rule, p. 12:
<ICON*> When you gain treasure from a quest of the indicated hero type
diamant wrote:
31 December 2019, 11:18
How do you explain the sentence I underlined, which indicates that the bonus could be obtained twice, without the limitation introduced?
The rule doesn't indicate that the bonus can be obtained twice, on the contrary, it specifies that it can only be used "once per quest". It additionally states that there is no distinction between having a marker on the quest or crafting the final item for the quest, in regards to the specialist's power.
diamant wrote:
31 December 2019, 11:18
Why would the editor write "do a quest" if the correct expression was "complete a quest?
"do" is hardly incorrect as you are implying. "complete" has a very specific meaning, do you "complete" a quest if your involvement only consisted of crafting the first item of two?
Either way, the rule on page 12 quite clearly states that the specialist is triggered when treasures are drawn, which only occurs at the completion of the quest.

User avatar
A-dam
Posts: 82
Joined: 28 September 2013, 18:15

Re: Fighter, Ranger, Wizard

Post by A-dam » 04 January 2020, 08:42

Hi,

I checked this with the designer, and it should really be after you gain treasure.

The only real difference is in situation when you craft 2 item quest and you do not have F/R/W yet, than you hire one of those and somebody else finishes the quest - you dont get a chance to use F/R/W.

As I dont have much time those days and it is not my priority (and the change is not easy fix), I will fix this sometimes in the future, but no guarantee it will be in coming months...

Adam

User avatar
diamant
Posts: 287
Joined: 18 April 2016, 16:39

Re: Fighter, Ranger, Wizard

Post by diamant » 04 January 2020, 11:01

A-dam wrote:
04 January 2020, 08:42
I checked this with the designer, and it should really be after you gain treasure.
Thank you for getting this clarification from the game designer.

Although English is not my mother language, I remain convinced that the description of skills for Fighter, Ranger, Wizard, is confusing.

Because you don’t gain any treasure card for an unfinished quest that you add to your guild at the end of the game. Therefore, "do a quest" cannot mean "draw a treasure card from this quest".

User avatar
N_Faker
Posts: 489
Joined: 09 September 2016, 10:16

Re: Fighter, Ranger, Wizard

Post by N_Faker » 04 January 2020, 17:33

A-dam wrote:
04 January 2020, 08:42
The only real difference is in situation when you craft 2 item quest and you do not have F/R/W yet, than you hire one of those and somebody else finishes the quest - you dont get a chance to use F/R/W.
That is a strangely conditional rule... considering how the time from crafting the 1st item to the 2nd item can be several turns. How would one track that in physical games? Isn't it needlessly convoluted?

User avatar
diamant
Posts: 287
Joined: 18 April 2016, 16:39

Re: Fighter, Ranger, Wizard

Post by diamant » 06 January 2020, 12:33

N_Faker wrote:
04 January 2020, 17:33
That is a strangely conditional rule... considering how the time from crafting the 1st item to the 2nd item can be several turns. How would one track that in physical games? Isn't it needlessly convoluted?
Currently implemented on BGA : the effect of Fighter, Ranger, Wizard is triggered when you craft an object from a a quest with the corresponding symbol.

As specified by the designer : the effect of Fighter, Ranger, Wizard is triggered when a player receive a treasure card, from a quest with the corresponding symbol. The seal placed on the quest card when crafting the first object identifies the player who receives the second treasure card. With this rule, the player benefits from the effect of the specialist (Fighter, Ranger, Wizard) even when he was hired after crafting the first object of a two-objects quest.

Post Reply

Return to “The King's Guild”