[SOLVED] Rule clarification on Poaching

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/bugs
Post Reply
User avatar
felipe1982
Posts: 30
Joined: 28 April 2012, 01:30

[SOLVED] Rule clarification on Poaching

Post by felipe1982 » 18 May 2021, 06:47

as one of the two possible Guest servicing opportunities on your turn (but not both), you may attempt to steal a Guest that another player has already claimed, by serving them just as you would Guests in the center. This is called Poaching.
What is the meaning of but not both?

https://www.looneylabs.com/sites/defaul ... _Rules.pdf
Last edited by felipe1982 on 18 May 2021, 23:42, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
N_Faker
Posts: 1024
Joined: 09 September 2016, 10:16

Re: Rule clarification on Poaching

Post by N_Faker » 18 May 2021, 07:24

You may only do one of the two possible "Guest servicing opportunities" on your turn.

User avatar
felipe1982
Posts: 30
Joined: 28 April 2012, 01:30

Re: Rule clarification on Poaching

Post by felipe1982 » 18 May 2021, 08:55

The two are :

1) service a guest using cards from your hand
2)..?

User avatar
Benoit314
Posts: 80
Joined: 02 April 2020, 22:12

Re: Rule clarification on Poaching

Post by Benoit314 » 18 May 2021, 12:55

2) Poaching: steal another player's guest by serving them.

User avatar
felipe1982
Posts: 30
Joined: 28 April 2012, 01:30

Re: Rule clarification on Poaching

Post by felipe1982 » 18 May 2021, 13:10

But if I poach (successfully or not) I'm still able to serve a guest from the centre afterwards. So I'm confused by the "but not both" phrase.

User avatar
N_Faker
Posts: 1024
Joined: 09 September 2016, 10:16

Re: Rule clarification on Poaching

Post by N_Faker » 18 May 2021, 13:16

You may not poach with both "Guest servicing opportunities" on your turn.

User avatar
felipe1982
Posts: 30
Joined: 28 April 2012, 01:30

Re: Rule clarification on Poaching

Post by felipe1982 » 18 May 2021, 21:58

I won a game yesterday by poaching and then servicing a guest normally in the same turn.

User avatar
Benoit314
Posts: 80
Joined: 02 April 2020, 22:12

Re: Rule clarification on Poaching

Post by Benoit314 » 18 May 2021, 22:07

You can serve up to 2 guests in a turn (according to rules).
Both cannot be by poaching, only one.
That's the meaning of "but not both".

User avatar
felipe1982
Posts: 30
Joined: 28 April 2012, 01:30

Re: Rule clarification on Poaching

Post by felipe1982 » 18 May 2021, 23:41

Cannot poach twice in one turn. Now I understand.

Post Reply

Return to “Just Desserts”