Today I played a game of Saboteur and was told as a saboteur to whom a broken pickax was bestowed another player told me under that circumstance I was not allowed to converse with others at the table as long as I was broken as it were. I had never heard of this and Now I am certain the player declaring that as a rule was just one more lie so often involved in that game. How do I know? Here is what AMIGO games who produces the game emailed me!
I am unfamiliar with Board Game Arena, so cannot speak to if they have modified rules but in the English language version there is no printed rule stating that a player of any kind with a broken equipment is unable to speak.
I hope that clears this up for you.
Marketing and Sales Coordinator
844-962-6446 - ext 704