More varied tournaments

Tournaments organization / Organisation des tournois
Estemy

More varied tournaments

Post by Estemy »

So as a new player I am just getting into tournaments. However, looking at my options I see no tournaments for most games that I like or am good at. There are many tournaments for carcasonne (love but play poorly), seasons (hate it) and stone age (like it, but im not any good at it). However, there are more than 100 games on this site so how can it be that there are no tournaments for most of them?
At first I thought players were just lazy and I had to create my own. So said, so done and I created a Machiavelli tournament (https://nl.boardgamearena.com/#!tournament?id=18021). I asked all my friends to join and every time i play a game i ask the people to join. All is going good and I expect to have a small tournament in the end of the month.

Since that went well I decided to create more tourneys and experiment a little with the options (some of which are still very confusing, because there is no explanation as to what round robin system means (and swiss I get a little, but not really sure). I've googled and searched and found nothing concrete. There should really be more info available when you are creating a tournament. Atm I feel like I'm moving around blindly and I already noticed that due to poor translation I filled in one of the fields wrong. Namely, I thought one field asked in how many days I plan to hold the tournament, but now i'm, by accident, closing the tournament registration 3 weeks too early. Still not too sure what that field means, but in dutch (and that's my site) you could understand it in 2 ways. Not even sure if people can register now (and i cant change it back since people have already joined). I tried making another tourney but entering 0 to that field (have the registration open until start) was also not allowed.