Is an 8 combo worth it?

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/bugs
Post Reply
User avatar
lordmcfuzz
Posts: 11
Joined: 14 November 2021, 03:41

Is an 8 combo worth it?

Post by lordmcfuzz »

Is going for 8 ever worth it?

For only one point more than a 7 and it does not count towards a column bonus, I can't see that it is ever worth it. I have not seen anyone do it either.
User avatar
RicardoRix
Posts: 1693
Joined: 29 April 2012, 23:43

Re: Is an 8 combo worth it?

Post by RicardoRix »

yeah it's a bit weird.

I only assume they thought that at the end of the game, once you have filled the other boxes, that the 8 will be the cherry on the top. But that never transpires, you always have some boxes left, someone gets their nose in front enough to push over the -5 for the win. So I'm with you - it's a red herring. It would be better if it came with a +2 bonus or something.

Still an excellent game, so I'm willing to look past it :)
User avatar
steve5332
Posts: 51
Joined: 20 September 2014, 16:09

Re: Is an 8 combo worth it?

Post by steve5332 »

I don't think I've ever taken it even when I had the chance to do so. I'm glad the option is there though. Without it your maximum possible score would be 92 instead of 100, and the latter is a nice number.
User avatar
msclark
Posts: 41
Joined: 06 February 2017, 23:47

Re: Is an 8 combo worth it?

Post by msclark »

I had a game where I would have won if I'd taken it. Not sure it was correct to do so, but the game ended quickly and I couldn't get the set completed. That 1 point was the difference between drawing and winning. It was this game, though the replays don't really work for Number Drop:

https://boardgamearena.com/table?table=222084686

So yeah - it's definitely worth considering, though it'll be rare that you actually do it.
Post Reply

Return to “Number Drop”