Rescue 2 cats instead of one card didn't work?

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/bugs
Post Reply
User avatar
theAudsMustBeCrazy
Posts: 16
Joined: 01 August 2021, 03:00

Rescue 2 cats instead of one card didn't work?

Post by theAudsMustBeCrazy »

At the start of my turn, I played an Anytime card which read "when you next rescue 1 cat you may rescue 2 cats instead". I had 1 permanent basket and no Rescue card baskets. The first cat I rescued was of a color that matched a map it was placed on, so I got a treasure. The app would not let me pick my second cat. Is this a bug, or am I missing something in the rules? I thought with that Anytime card I didn't need another basket (that's the perk of it). Did it not work because I took a treasure?
User avatar
BenInJapan
Posts: 23
Joined: 13 April 2020, 05:30

Re: Rescue 2 cats instead of one card didn't work?

Post by BenInJapan »

As far as I understand the game, this card is a little bit difficult to understand correctly.

It doesn't mean you can rescue two cats for the price of one, or by using just one basket (which would make it a very powerful card), but only that you can use two baskets (and pay the fish for both of the cats you want to rescue) at the same time. So the main effect of this card is that you do not have to hope your opponents leave the cats you want to have for your second pick, but you can instead pick them both at once (but still using the usual resources).

This also means using this card is pretty pointless if you have only one basket or only enough fish to pay for only a single cat, as I understand was the case in your play
User avatar
Oicalyptus
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 April 2021, 19:09

Re: Rescue 2 cats instead of one card didn't work?

Post by Oicalyptus »

BenInJapan wrote: 01 February 2022, 05:35 As far as I understand the game, this card is a little bit difficult to understand correctly.

It doesn't mean you can rescue two cats for the price of one, or by using just one basket (which would make it a very powerful card), but only that you can use two baskets (and pay the fish for both of the cats you want to rescue) at the same time. So the main effect of this card is that you do not have to hope your opponents leave the cats you want to have for your second pick, but you can instead pick them both at once (but still using the usual resources).

This also means using this card is pretty pointless if you have only one basket or only enough fish to pay for only a single cat, as I understand was the case in your play
thats totally correct and written in the rules
Post Reply

Return to “The Isle of Cats”