Not able to use red cubes after last production round

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/bugs
Post Reply
User avatar
wiwiwam
Posts: 1
Joined: 08 November 2023, 15:30

Not able to use red cubes after last production round

Post by wiwiwam »

https://boardgamearena.com/table?table=440548338

During my last production, the blue production, I finished a blue card, earning a building bonus of 2 krystallium/red cubes. But i didn’t have the change to use them on the last card, because the game ends after the cards are build and building bonusses are earned. Is this a bug, or is there a way to explain this by the rules? What are your opinions?
User avatar
Kayvon
Posts: 288
Joined: 17 October 2011, 01:39

Re: Not able to use red cubes after last production round

Post by Kayvon »

You can spend them the same phase in which you earn them.

The rules say you place cubes when produced. There is no extra placement phase after the final production phase, so this is not a bug.
Last edited by Kayvon on 23 February 2024, 20:37, edited 1 time in total.
nightshifted
Posts: 1
Joined: 10 February 2023, 01:05

Re: Not able to use red cubes after last production round

Post by nightshifted »

I think this is a bug. The rules say that once all of the spaces of a card under construction are filled, its construction is complete and to add the card to your empire. Since the BGA implementation doesn't seem to allow construction to trigger until all cubes are allocated, we don't get a chance to use any krystallium earned as a construction bonus.
User avatar
Guudys
Posts: 75
Joined: 30 September 2021, 12:10

Re: Not able to use red cubes after last production round

Post by Guudys »

Not true. When you allocate all the cubes to a card and that it is constructed, the instant "rewards" of that card are automatically available and added to your reserve, it can be financiers, generals of krystallium cubes. If you complete a card that yields krystallium cubes, you should look at your reserve, you'll notice the value in krystallium has increased. It isn't a bug. Maybe it's not very clear visually for some but it isn't a bug, that's coded properly. After more than 1000 solo games of IAWW, I'm yet to encounter a bug.
Gilmok
Posts: 2
Joined: 06 May 2023, 21:48

Re: Not able to use red cubes after last production round

Post by Gilmok »

Maybe not this "bug" but I did face a similar issue. On any given turn if you don't produce a resource (and you have no crystallium) the game will not allow you to discard buildings for crystallium. I thought to wait until exploration (blue) production to discard my final buildings for a small point gain but the interface would not allow it because I wasn't producing any blue. Make sure you do any building discarding when you have the opportunity because the interface willl not give it to you unless you have production or crystallium to place.
User avatar
Kayvon
Posts: 288
Joined: 17 October 2011, 01:39

Re: Not able to use red cubes after last production round

Post by Kayvon »

It's not a bug. It's not even a "bug". If you want to be prompted more often, just change your options in the game. There's a whole pull-down menu to choose from.
Post Reply

Return to “It's a Wonderful World”