Longest railroad calculated incorrectly?

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/bugs
Post Reply
User avatar
donkeykong66
Posts: 34
Joined: 08 July 2015, 11:39

Longest railroad calculated incorrectly?

Post by donkeykong66 »

Hi all, why is my longest railroad in this game 18? If I count it should be 17 right? Does it maybe have to do with misinterpreting the loop in the bottom left?

https://imgur.com/a/KrCutJS
User avatar
steve5332
Posts: 51
Joined: 20 September 2014, 16:09

Re: Longest railroad calculated incorrectly?

Post by steve5332 »

18 is right. The T in B6 counts twice. First when you go along the straight section, then again when your railroad finishes on the trunk of that T.
User avatar
donkeykong66
Posts: 34
Joined: 08 July 2015, 11:39

Re: Longest railroad calculated incorrectly?

Post by donkeykong66 »

So to confirm, you can use a *square* in the grid twice, as long as you don't use any given *segment* more than once?
User avatar
steve5332
Posts: 51
Joined: 20 September 2014, 16:09

Re: Longest railroad calculated incorrectly?

Post by steve5332 »

Correct. You can even use a crossroads twice so that your route crosses over itself, and the square would count twice.

Hypothetically I believe you could use a crossroads three times, by starting and finishing at the center of the crossroads and using the other two branches as you pass through. I've never seen it done and I don't know if the implementation handles it.
Post Reply

Return to “Railroad Ink”