Page 1 of 2

[SOLVED] How to switch off "selecting game type" tutorial?

Posted: 03 July 2020, 10:57
by KuWizard
Hello.
I am a new developer and I try to start with BGA development. When I click on "Play now" trying to run my tutorial game, BGA always shows me this stupid newbie tutorial "Select a game type" and every time I need to choose Simple Game, Real Time, Manual. This really drives me mad. How can I remove this tutorial and choose Simple Game, Real Time, Manual FOREVER?
Why do developers need all those tutorial on the first place? I assume we all were players before started developing and we know the basic UI elements.

Re: How to switch off "selecting game type" tutorial

Posted: 03 July 2020, 11:04
by Een
This disappears after the first game played. So it should not persist.
Studio is a copy of the prod environment, so it's identical except if we add some exceptions. We have added some to disable other tutorials, but may have missed that (because it should not persist beyond the first game, so it didn't feel like a big deal).

Re: How to switch off "selecting game type" tutorial

Posted: 03 July 2020, 11:23
by KuWizard
Een wrote: 03 July 2020, 11:04 This disappears after the first game played. So it should not persist.
Hey Een! Thanks for the hint. Previously I was running my tutorials only but now I tried to run a solo La Granja game and concede. Currently my profile says I won 1 game but I still see this tutorial :evil:

Re: How to switch off "selecting game type" tutorial

Posted: 03 July 2020, 12:09
by RicardoRix
Use Neutreeko for a very short game.

I think it's a also possible to resign in chess after the 1st turn.

Re: How to switch off "selecting game type" tutorial

Posted: 03 July 2020, 12:20
by Een
Yes, not sure about the precise condition, I didn't write this personally. Doing a quick Neutreeko game should work though. If not, there may be a deeper issue there.

Re: How to switch off "selecting game type" tutorial

Posted: 03 July 2020, 12:32
by KuWizard
RicardoRix wrote: 03 July 2020, 12:09 Use Neutreeko for a very short game.

I think it's a also possible to resign in chess after the 1st turn.
Can't play Neutreeko - it says "Unexpected error: Unknow game name: neutreeko" even though I found it in the list :roll:
Just played chess with my other account which is MyUserName1, I proposed a tie and finished the game. Both of us still see this f*** tutorial. I currently have "2 games played" in my profile overview. Am I the only one who is annoyed by this tutorial? How did you developers turn it off???

Re: How to switch off "selecting game type" tutorial

Posted: 03 July 2020, 13:20
by Brainchild
Een wrote: 03 July 2020, 11:04 This disappears after the first game played. So it should not persist.
Studio is a copy of the prod environment, so it's identical except if we add some exceptions. We have added some to disable other tutorials, but may have missed that (because it should not persist beyond the first game, so it didn't feel like a big deal).
If you can add an easy exception in Studio for this feature I think it will be worth it. In my experience the prompt doesn't always go away after the first game played. It also applies to each test account separately, so it can end up being a pretty persistent nuisance.

Re: How to switch off "selecting game type" tutorial?

Posted: 03 July 2020, 13:32
by Draasill
I remember having to confirm the half-dozen achievements on each test account :mrgreen:

Re: How to switch off "selecting game type" tutorial?

Posted: 03 July 2020, 14:46
by RicardoRix
Mammalath then for the next shortest.

I wonder if the check project would also work?

Re: How to switch off "selecting game type" tutorial

Posted: 03 July 2020, 17:43
by Een
KuWizard wrote: 03 July 2020, 12:32
RicardoRix wrote: 03 July 2020, 12:09 Use Neutreeko for a very short game.

I think it's a also possible to resign in chess after the 1st turn.
Can't play Neutreeko - it says "Unexpected error: Unknow game name: neutreeko" even though I found it in the list :roll:
Just played chess with my other account which is MyUserName1, I proposed a tie and finished the game. Both of us still see this f*** tutorial. I currently have "2 games played" in my profile overview. Am I the only one who is annoyed by this tutorial? How did you developers turn it off???
Checked it, and it's actually displayed in more cases. At some point during lockdown we had lots of people coming to the platform and asking about this, drowning us in email, so it was really necessary to make sure everyone got it :D

Good news, it's now disabled on the studio.

NB: neutreeko fixed too.