Slight bias in the game?

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/bugs
Mesprilla

Slight bias in the game?

Post by Mesprilla »

So, when I started playing this here, I did very well. I was very lucky with my hands, choices for cards to put into box was easy (not always, but the majority of the time - generally speaking, I had hands that gave me a good count, and if I kept the max, I still had decent cards to put into my own box to score at least a few points), and if I gambled on a turn up, 9/10 I got it. I got up to 300odd points very easily and quickly. And then I got disconnected after there was a power cut in my town. Since then, I've had mostly bad hands, no patterns to them and if I gamble, there is never a good turn up. My boxes are usually 2 or 4 points (and yeah, I know that that is a lot down to the opposing player, but if my own hands aren't good, I can't put cards in my own box that would help, but when I need to put cards into the opponents box, I usually have to provide them with a gift of a matching pair at least, in order to retain the max value in my own hand).

I find it hard to believe that there is some kind of fix, but given I've dropped down from 300 to 100ish in roughly 4 games does make me rather suspicious.
RicardoRix

Re: Slight bias in the game?

Post by RicardoRix »

You've played 26 games and currently ranked 164, and your highest was 260 which was a short sharp peak.

You might have got lucky early on when your K-factor was higher and perhaps stumbled upon easier opponents to defeat, and/or you've had stronger players recently that have an abnormally low ELO as they climb up the ranks.

Nothing particularly suspicious.

There is no built-in catch-up mechanism in the card draw if that's what you're implying.
Giordano Bruno 1974

Post by Giordano Bruno 1974 »