Which gender to use in German translations

Deutsche Übersetzung
Gawandur

Which gender to use in German translations

Post by Gawandur »

I deceided to translate "player" with the female expression "Spielerin" for a change.
I checked a few days later my translation and saw that every translation got changed tothe male "Spieler" without a comment.
Is there a kind of rule which gender to use? I could have understood it being changed to "Spieler*In" or something.
Or is it a "changing war" between supporters of different opionions?

Gawandur (male)
qwertasdfg

Re: Which gender to use in German translations

Post by qwertasdfg »

In my opinion, it would be best to use genderless wording.
So rephrasing sentences might work best.

I'm not an expert in gender studies, so I don't know and don't have an opinion on whether to use
Spieler*in, Spieler:in, Spieler::in, SpielerIn, Spieler(in) or something else
in situations where it can't be rephrased. Although I got to say that I've never seen Spieler*In as stated in your proposal.

I do think having some games with the male form throughout, some with the female form would make sense. Especially, as you can see some games using female pronouns in their rules (ein solches Ding f.e.).

Alas, I have no idea how to implement that without triggering edit wars. Maybe use the comment field for every change?
Dorian Gray2

Post by Dorian Gray2 »

I mostly use the generic masculin "Spieler" (and "he", "his") when I edit stuff, because of a lack of other rules. Only having the female version is wong, there is no "generic feminin" in german. Using smth like "He/she has decided to spend his/her money..." sounds not concise enough, and sometimes there are length constraints.
Gawandur

Post by Gawandur »

Only because ther is no "generic feminin" - which is worth a seperate discussion - it's not automatically corect using "Spieler". The game text need not be generic i think. And BGA and the translators could support this. ;)
Dorian Gray2