Establishing 5th Dice Process

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/bugs
Badchenn

Establishing 5th Dice Process

Post by Badchenn »

It seems that the game allows a user to select a 5th die in the first round and then (though unlikely) continue to re-use that same value. For example, select a '3' and then use 3 as the 5th die for subsequent turns.

Looking over the official rules, I pick up that the first three roles require that three distinct die values are set. For example, role 1 = '6', role 2 = '1' and role 3 = '5'. Those 3 5th die values are then used throughout the remainder of the game.

I realize that a current 5th die value needs to be re-used should the second or third role not contain a distinct 5th die.

Thoughts? Can anyone verify this is the proper game behavior?
SquashEngineer

Re: Establishing 5th Dice Process

Post by SquashEngineer »

I'm a newb to Can't Stop Express (but I'm lovin' it), so I'm not an expert.

Scenario #1: The BGA link for Can't Stop Express Rules (link to Ultra Board Games - How to Play page) says:

"The 5th Die
In each of the first three turns, each player must select a unique 5th die to add to their chart in the three left boxes and must also mark the use of that die number by filling in the first check box.
Once players have completed the first three turns they will have three unique 5th die numbers in the three left boxes of their chart."

Scenario #2: The BGG file for PnP Rules (seems unofficial) says:

"The 5th Die
As long as a player has not chosen all three numbers, s/he can decide whether to check off an already chosen number, or choose a new number to check off. "