list the interesting combos you have tried in this game that are blocked by obscure rules

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/bugs
Post Reply
User avatar
Andreainpa
Posts: 1
Joined: 05 November 2019, 06:35

list the interesting combos you have tried in this game that are blocked by obscure rules

Post by Andreainpa »

It seems like almost every time I play this game, I try to do something that seems legal and get blocked by the software rules. For example, in my last game, in round 5 - the income round, I upgraded my invention card so that I got the benefit of a square in my top row invention cards. I chose the square that lets you play a tapestry card over your last tapestry card, or so I thought. It turns out, although nothing is mentioned about this on the card that you can't actually do this. However, it was too late - I lost my square benefit to something that I wasn't allowed to do. This is very frustrating.

Similarly, I have tried to use the combination where on the science track you get to take the benefit of any of your other cubes on any other track. When I used that to upgrade my invention card with the same benefit as the science track to the top row, I lost that upgrade because apparently you cannot twice take the benefit of the same cube. Again, there is no mention of this on the card. Perhaps it is buried somewhere in the rule book.

There seem to be a lot of combinations I have tried that fail like this. Anybody else have this issue?
User avatar
Chilon
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 July 2012, 17:07

Re: list the interesting combos you have tried in this game that are blocked by obscure rules

Post by Chilon »

Those are general rules, not obscure ones; they apply to multiple situations, whereas only rules specific to an action are usually described in that action's text. But for example, there is a general rule that is only mentioned in the specific text related to Nuclear Bomb, so there are exceptions.

Printing Press says "Play a tapestry card on top of your current tapestry." However, as soon as you begin an income turn, you are now in a new era. The card you tried to overwrite was from a previous era.

As to the second instance: no advancement space may be activated more than once in a player's turn. Actually, that one might qualify as obscure, because I believe it wasn't made official until Arts & Architecture.

The general problem that you are experiencing is probably this: Tapestry has a lot of small rules, and the rulebook is not written or organized well (Sorry Jamey, but it's true!). For example, there are rules which only appear in the help sheet or flavor text.
Post Reply

Return to “Tapestry”