A question for experts

General discussion on board games
fatboyslimjim

A question for experts

Post by fatboyslimjim »

I am not an expert at any of the games I play on BGA, so this is an honest question and I'm not calling out anyone. But I am curious about this. If there is a table of average or apprentice tables, do you, as an expert, enjoy joining that game and winning that game?

For me, it wouldn't be a challenge. However, as I said, I am not an expert so I don't know why an expert would do it? Do you like the domination? The low risk of lowering your rating? No one else is playing the game you want to play so it's apprentices or nothing? You don't consider your rating and you just like playing whomever? Some other reason?

Again, just curious. No judgment.
RicardoRix

Re: A question for experts

Post by RicardoRix »

I'm not actually an expert in anything, but strong in a lot of things. I have been known to join low rated players as a strong player, and also join a high rated table as an average player to see if I can make an upset.

It of course depends upon the player, and it can depend a lot on the player pool.
If there is only a very few number of tables out there though, then what else are you going to join?

I find it best to always play against players your own ability, whenever possible.
There are table restriction settings. Use them!

I also think it's a fallacy that experts will beat up on younglings just for ELO/points. It's actually the other way around, they have more to lose. They might likely come across a player/players that are climbing the rankings and are actually far better than their rating.

Either way, you learn more from your loses, and everyone is beatable, even the #1. So give yourself a chance, you'll likely learn more than you think.
ViolentSilence

Post by ViolentSilence »

Not an expert, but I can maybe suggest a few things that people have said in places that has stuck with me.