Community consensus / unwritten rules about blocking?

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/bugs
Tzinacantli

Community consensus / unwritten rules about blocking?

Post by Tzinacantli »

Hey!
I decided to make this topic, since the other one calls for a UI option, so it's different than this one.

I'm new to the game. Played twice so far.
In the first one I'd just mind my business, building my route, and a little of blocking each other had place on my opponents' part. It could be due to their routes overlapping. During the second game I had my both opponents block my routes constantly, on all sides, with a lot of it looking like it was blocking for the sake of blocking (I'm not going to lie, it was the most frustrating game out of the 700+ I played on BGA).

Now I am in the spot where I'm going to feel bad for any option I'd choose: if I don't block and someone else does, I'll feel bad. If I do block and they just want to peacefully put their rails to connect cities, I'll feel bad for ruining their experience.

So, my question is: what's the option most of the community prefers to play (so I follow it and don't feel bad :P)?
I'm going to assume that the most competitive players optimise their every move, so they likely prefer blocking. Which option describes YOU?

1) I don't block and would prefer others not to block my routes on purpose (fine when they need the path for themselves).
2) I don't block, but I have no problems with others blocking it to win the game or prevent me from gaining too many points.
3) I don't block, but I don't care when and why others block my routes.
4) I block only when I need the route for points and hope others do this only in such case too.
5) I block and don't mind others blocking for any reason.

I hope these options make sense.

Of course, the best thing to do is to add a description to the game or ask in the in-game chat, but that's not always possible.