Catan stealing mechanic

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/bugs
WALLPERS

Catan stealing mechanic

Post by WALLPERS »

Hi All,

I'm pretty new in Catan but I'm already disappointed by this steal/robber mechanic...
The thing is when you play game for 3-players and you are been stolen twice more often you do have not many options to do... I had game where I've been stolen 9 times vs 5 times in total for my opponents (moreover 2 time they stole each other because I had 0 resources)

So, I don't say thay played party or smth... I say that the game should have more mechanics.. to maybe reward the most stolen player with some additional resource, victory point, or smth.

Currently, I see that I can use only knights to protect myself...but just imagine that you got stolen 1 important resource + your most profit area blocked and you need to collect 3 other resources to draw a development card and only in next turn to be able to pay back... This feels so unbalanced, unfinished and unfair that I do not understand why this game is so popular..

But maybe I miss smth ?
Last edited by WALLPERS on 23 January 2023, 01:13, edited 1 time in total.
euklid314

Re: Catan stealing mechanic

Post by euklid314 »

See Catan as a game where it is your goal to maximize your winning chances but the dice will make the final decision.

This aspect occurs very similar also in the game of Backgammon where you can make the optimal move each time and still lose some games. This might be frustrating if you play like a world champion and lose against a much weaker opponent, but on the other hand it is fascinating that you can (sometimes) beat a much superior player. This aspect makes Catan very appealing for many as a family game since you (your children,...) can win even with suboptimal play. Only on the long run the better player will win more...