Being able to abandon games

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/#!bugs
ExaltedAngel

Being able to abandon games

Post by ExaltedAngel »

Being able to abandon games totally destroys the purpose of Elo rating making it a number without meaning at all. I'm not saying I'm good, I have 300 Elo and still am learning a lot, I often make mistakes, I think it's part of the game and I'm ok with losing Elo when I do so. But in the current state of the game almost everyone wants to abandon suboptimal games, often even just after the slightest mistake. The consequences are evident: I'm finding people with 800 Elo not able to understand the bluff and people with 300 Elo who play like total beginners. Why are people even allowed to abandon games in the first place? It's bad, kills the value of Elo rating and last but not least it ruins the experience for players lowering the weight of errors and thus setting some/many of the players in the "eh whatever, we can abandon, go next" state of mind.

I know there are groups in which you can find better/nicer players to somehow work around what's broken in the system, but why has the system to be broken in the first place when it would be so easy to fix or at least improve?

In b4: "Hey but it's bad not being able to abandon when someone intentionally boycotts the game". This is part of the game, it sucks, but the solution is not letting people abandon, it's a problem that should be addressed separately with reports (let people be allowed to report for boycotting and punish who has a report rate a lot higher than standard, like in other online games, 0 effort, all automatic).
Spicy

Re: Being able to abandon games

Post by Spicy »

Abandon functionality