How to avoid trolls?

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/bugs
jerclarke

How to avoid trolls?

Post by jerclarke »

So I started playing this earlier this year and got addicted quite quick. Unfortunately for me I hadn't read the scoring system properly so was struggling around the 200 mark with my ELO and was always getting beaten by higher ranked players. As soon as I understood the scoring system I went up to around 300 but was still getting beaten by people who blocked so I thought hey this game is even more fun the more I get blocked and I will have to change my game plan. As soon as I did this I started getting loads of abuse from players about my tactics and getting reported and banned. So I decided to set my settings to only play v's good or above players and all of a sudden I was having really tight games and a lot less abuse. I adapted my tactics in several ways and really enjoyed learning from the better players. So I went from being naive to being a bit more competitive and I was enjoying the game far more even in defeat. In fact I loved being beaten by the better players as the game interested me even more when people were out to win. I was sick and tired of having to ask people if I could block them each game. So now I have my settings to only play 300 ELO and above and not one single person has complained or given me abuse. Respect is always shown after the game no matter who wins. This is what gaming is all about for me :) I am presuming that you cannot really get an ELO above 300 without blocking as you are just lambs to the slaughter. Obviously you can agree before the start not to block but that is just an argument waiting to happen if two people are both actually after a the same tracks. Thoughts?
thg0724

Re: How to avoid trolls?

Post by thg0724 »