Any quick strategy tips for a novice player?

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/bugs
jimbojimjim

Any quick strategy tips for a novice player?

Post by jimbojimjim »

I am wondering if anyone has any tips for me to be better at this game.

I am very bad at it. I've played it 24 times here and maybe 10 in irl. Any wins on my profile are because someone quit the game.

I watch better players take their turns and yet can't seem to put a finger on what I'm doing wrong.

I really like this game so if you have any helpful advice for me, thank you.
hymnal

Re: Any quick strategy tips for a novice player?

Post by hymnal »

I'm not an expert but until someone wiser comes along, perhaps this will help.

A common mistake is to think the game is about getting good hands of cows and delivering them for points. The truth is that most points come from other things. The game is really about improving certain abilities and benefiting from them on each circuit of the trail.

So, focus primarily on one of the domains (buying cows, building buildings, or pushing the train to upgrade stations). The most important thing is to get employees that improve that ability, and you can also build buildings that help or reward you for it.

Your choice of which domain to focus on will come down to which employees are available, what other players are doing (eg, if they are buying all the good cows, there will be none left for you, so focus on something else), what objective cards and bonus tiles you get.

As with many games, at the beginning you will want to focus on making money and investing it on things that will increase your powers (i.e. employees, cows, buildings). Then towards the end just look for whatever you can do that makes the most points.
davypi

Post by davypi »