Wanna discuss whether 3P or 4P is better for Arena again?

Forum rules
Please DO NOT POST BUGS on this forum. Please report (and vote) bugs on : https://boardgamearena.com/#!bugs
ElThoesen

Wanna discuss whether 3P or 4P is better for Arena again?

Post by ElThoesen »

This discussion comes up every time we switch off player count for Arena. Personally I enjoy it because I love chaos. But I know many elite players feel 3P is more "pure". 5P was a bit too much to wait for games. 4P gives a little more variety and introduces some interesting dynamics with being unable to access the player across from you.
doublecheck

Re: Wanna discuss whether 3P or 4P is better for Arena again?

Post by doublecheck »

I really don't like 4p cause you rely to much on the player you'll be facing, he can really be your ally (red synch) or your foe (resources monopoly)
Tens0r

Post by Tens0r »

I'm by no means a pro at 7W or anything (hovering in the low-mid 300 ELO atm), but I am of the opinion that 3P and 4P are both viable (with 3P generally being a more competitive mode).

4P does imply that there is a player directly across from you who you cannot trade with, fight militarily, or score guilds from, which can lead to volatility in a number of different ways. That being said, I do think that you need to interact with this player by proxy over the course of the entire game. For instance,

1) If the opposite player is playing military, you are now better off also playing military, since there will be less military cards available for your opponents AND you'll be able to get easy military wins against your neighbors, who are less incentivized to try to build military when surrounded by two military builds.