Page 1 of 1

Undo conversion

Posted: 19 February 2024, 07:51
by jprb
Hi,

You start your turn by performing a conversion (let's say: 1 ore for 1 coin). You realize too late that your clumsy hand (brain) clicked twice in the conversion button. Why is it not possible to 'restart turn' or 'undo'? I mean, you are still in your turn and you are not changing anything for the other players ... Is there a fundamental reason (rule) that justifies this?

Re: Undo conversion

Posted: 19 February 2024, 16:46
by Kayvon
There's a lengthy discussion on it here:
https://boardgamearena.com/bug?id=50676

If you're not looking to read that, I'll summarize the main points here.

1) It goes against BGA's undo policy: boardgamearena.com/doc/BGA_Undo_policy
"As a rule of thumb, on BGA we advise you to not undo moves. Undo are painful for opponents, in real world and online. Some players may also use Undo to 'test' situations while they should just think instead. In many cases, proposing an 'Undo' means also adding an extra step, which is not good for the game interface."
(Please refer to https://boardgamearena.com/bug?id=13887 if you want to recommend a policy change)

2) Confirmations are already required at key points to prevent misclicks, which are usually the same points at which real life players would allow you to change your move anyway. ("I didn't mean to put these satellites here... let me rethink those... oh, and take this federation tile instead.")

3) Undo is tricky to implement correctly and very bug prone. I don't want to volunteer a dozen hours to implement the a feature that I don't feel is needed.

Re: Undo conversion

Posted: 19 February 2024, 22:01
by jprb
Thanks for the reply :)