New player experience
Posted: 09 August 2025, 07:31
Thanks for an awesome platform!
As a first time, non-premium player, my experience was a bit crazy, e.g.,
1. This seems to be the only way I can get a message to BGA, so apologies if it's the wrong place.
2. During the game I wanted to report a bug. I filled in a detailed bug report, only to be told I wasn't allowed to post it. Why wasn't I told that earlier?
3. I woke up this morning to find the game simply vaped. Eventually I found out that another player had won but I couldn't see how. I couldn't even look at the final board position or moves.
4. I found the replay feature, but I didn't want to replay the whole thing, just see the end of the log and board position. As usual, I wasn't allowed to use it anyway.
5. In desperation I decided to go premium, bit I wasn't allowed! Apparently that's because I've only played one game.
6. So I tried to message the winner with my congratulations and asking for the final moves, bit I wasn't allowed that either because of some red banner that was always scrolled off my phone screen (I'm traveling right now.)
Of course you need money and that's ok. So do I. But you won't even take my money right now, and my only game experience ended bitterly. Am I likely to start another?
I really hope there's an internal discussion about this, because you've done an incredible job on the coding and it's all going to waste as long as policies like this repel new players and make it almost impossible for them to tell you why. I wonder if I'll even be allowed to post this.
As a first time, non-premium player, my experience was a bit crazy, e.g.,
1. This seems to be the only way I can get a message to BGA, so apologies if it's the wrong place.
2. During the game I wanted to report a bug. I filled in a detailed bug report, only to be told I wasn't allowed to post it. Why wasn't I told that earlier?
3. I woke up this morning to find the game simply vaped. Eventually I found out that another player had won but I couldn't see how. I couldn't even look at the final board position or moves.
4. I found the replay feature, but I didn't want to replay the whole thing, just see the end of the log and board position. As usual, I wasn't allowed to use it anyway.
5. In desperation I decided to go premium, bit I wasn't allowed! Apparently that's because I've only played one game.
6. So I tried to message the winner with my congratulations and asking for the final moves, bit I wasn't allowed that either because of some red banner that was always scrolled off my phone screen (I'm traveling right now.)
Of course you need money and that's ok. So do I. But you won't even take my money right now, and my only game experience ended bitterly. Am I likely to start another?
I really hope there's an internal discussion about this, because you've done an incredible job on the coding and it's all going to waste as long as policies like this repel new players and make it almost impossible for them to tell you why. I wonder if I'll even be allowed to post this.