New Player

Discussions about BGA (all languages)
Forum rules
Warning: challenging a moderation in Forum = 10 days ban
More info & details about how to challenge a moderation: viewtopic.php?p=119756
Kai Shiden

New Player

Post by Kai Shiden »

Hello, everyone. I am completely new to BGA... I found this website via google. Through the Ages is a personal favorite game of mine, and I see a couple of other good games here, as well. I was having a bit of an issue, however. It seems as though it is extremely rare to find just an 'open' game... a game available for someone who is perfectly capable of playing these games, who knows the rules quite well, and yet lacks the social network or the proper reputation to be able to join any games...

As such, I feel as though many newer players such as myself are being put off by BGA. Unless you have established yourself through a social network of friends, it becomes too difficult to join a game. Might there be any plans in the future that will give players incentive to play against newer players? Might there be a section in the forums set aside for new-timers only? What are your thoughts on this issue?
Jest Phulin

Re: New Player

Post by Jest Phulin »

This may be unique to Through The Ages. Looking at what games have been created right now, I see 9 TTA games, 6 of which are restricted to certain groups, 1 of which is restricted by skill level. This still leaves 2 totally free to join, though.
Of the approximately 50 other games listed, about 6 are restricted to certain groups, and maybe a dozen looking like they are restricted by skill level.

The skill level restriction I can easily understand. Several games are not fun if being demolished by a better opponent, or if the opponent is making choices that allow you to win easily. The skill tracking is one of the advantages of this site.