[Solved] Grid building doesn't work as intended by tutorial, insert_block loop only inserts last block

Game development with Board Game Arena Studio
Tichodrome Colvert

[Solved] Grid building doesn't work as intended by tutorial, insert_block loop only inserts last block

Post by Tichodrome Colvert »

Hi,

I'm a new developer and I'm trying to learn how to develop games on Board Game Arena Studio. For that and to get a grasp on how the framework works I'm currently following the Reversi tutorial.

I'm currently trying to create the grid using the insert_block function. I've copy-pasted the code from the tutorial:

HTML in .tpl file:

Code: Select all

<div id="board">
    <!-- BEGIN square -->
        <div id="square_{X}_{Y}" class="square" style="left: {LEFT}px; top: {TOP}px;"></div>
    <!-- END square -->
 </div>
PHP:

$this->page->begin_block( "reversi_reversi", "square" );

$hor_scale = 64.8;
        $ver_scale = 64.4;
        for( $x=1; $x<=8; $x++ )
        {
            for( $y=1; $y<=8; $y++ )
            {
                $this->page->insert_block( "square", array(
                    'X' => $x,
                    'Y' => $y,
                    'LEFT' => round( ($x-1)*$hor_scale+10 ),
                    'TOP' => round( ($y-1)*$ver_scale+7 )
                ) );
            }        
        }
And the result is this visually:

Only the bottom red block appears as a red square, even though from the tutorial I should have expected a grid full of red squares. You can see using my browser's developer tools:

I do not understand why that is the case. It seems like every time the insert_block functions is called it overrides the last inserted block instead of adding it. So I add the following lines of code after the unedited PHP code from the tutorial:

'X' => 1,
                    'Y' => 1,
                    'LEFT' => 10,
                    'TOP' => 70
                ) );
It gave the following result: