Poor designer with no programming background

Game development with Board Game Arena Studio
Alan Law is awesome

Poor designer with no programming background

Post by Alan Law is awesome »

Hello all,

I am a board game designer from Hong Kong, I have designed a game and made a prototype and tested with my friends, I would like to make an online version so it can be reached by more people. The game board is quite similar to the game "Saboteur", I have just created this account but I have no programming background, what should I start with?
This is how the game looks when play.

Thank you so much for helping.

Best regards
Alan Law is awesome

Re: Poor designer with no programming background

An other sample of how the game plays.
imralav

Post by imralav »

Are you interested in bringing this game to BGA yourself or letting someone else do it?
Alan Law is awesome

imralav wrote: 09 May 2024, 08:22 Are you interested in bringing this game to BGA yourself or letting someone else do it?
I am interested in bringing it to BGA myself and I am following the Tutorial reversi right now. It seems so difficult for me.
imralav

Post by imralav »

It will surely be difficult if you have no prior programming experience. I would suggest just spending a few weeks on the coding in general. Find some resources on programming in php. There must be some free ones out there. If not, use chatgpt to generate theory and exercises for you.

Then do the same, but for javascript.

Then come back to BGA tutorials to learn the engine.